NDA National Design Award winner is announced!

It’s finally been announced! The winner of the prestigious NDA National Design Award is Grace Moulder from Darlington. The recent graduate beat off hundreds of entrants from colleges and universities from all over the country to bag the HUGE prize of £3000 cash, see her design implemented and a professional portfolio of photographs of the finished design.

The national competition was exclusive to architecture/design students, keen amateurs and recent graduates, who had the task of designing a £1 million penthouse situated in the luxury River Crescent complex, Nottingham.

Grace also won a work placement with NDA Private Clients to oversee her design come true, as well as one years membership to the British Institute of Interior Design, an NDA workshop of her choice and the chance to show off her design at a VIP Champagne unveiling ceremony to be held later this autumn – WOWSER!

Grace was thrilled when told the great news and said,

Knowing this was a national competition I realised the standards must have been very high, so I am so proud of all that I have achieved and that my hard work has paid off!  I look forward to coming to work with the design team and hope that my genuine enthusiasm and passion for Interior design will shine through. I will treasure all the experience I gain and I am hopeful that it will give me the confidence to succeed in the design world! Thanks again to the NDA and all that was involved in giving me such a fantastic opportunity.”

As well as Grace, there where 5 shortlisted designers who will also receive a years membership to BIID, a workshop of their choice, an NDA National Design Award trophy and an invite to the unveiling ceremony.

Check out Graces submission!

Owner of the penthouse, Ian Roberts, found it extremely difficult to choose between the 6 shortlisted designs, he saidI would like to thank everyone who took the time and effort to submit designs, the response was overwhelming. I would also like to thank the NDA for organising the competition and my fellow judges whose guidance I could not have done without. The quality, innovation and creativity of the short listed entries exceeded my expectations and selecting a single winner was very difficult.  I congratulate Grace and really look forward to working with her and the NDA to deliver what will be a world class interior to a breathtaking apartment.”

A huge well done to the 5 lucky shortlists!

 

Nicola Dejewski from Nottinghamshire said “Thank you to all the judges, I am really excited to be named as a shortlisted designer. This is the first design competition I have entered and I’m very proud of the outcome. I really enjoyed working on the project and am over the moon that my hard work has been acknowledged by the National Design Academy. I am now looking forward to completing my final year at Nottingham Trent University and a successful career in the design industry.”

View Nicola’s submission!

Julian Potts  from Bath and currently studies at KLC School of Design  said, “Thank you very much for running this competition– I really enjoyed researching the scheme and coming up with a concept as well as trying to do something interesting with the living area and all within the constraints of a budget … it’s scary how easy it is to use up the £100,000. It was very motivating to know that the winner gets their scheme built, and I would like to congratulate Grace on getting that fantastic opportunity! I am also really pleased to have been short listed. I just need to find someone else who needs a penthouse fitting out now!”

View Julian’s submission!

Erika Davies  from Southampton Solent University said, “Taking part in the National Design Award 2011 has been an invaluable experience, and a great opportunity to apply my passion for interior design to a real-world brief. To have been short-listed is fantastic and will provide a great stepping stone into becoming a freelance designer, as well as a great addition to my portfolio.”

View Erika’s submission!

Katherine Charles who lives in London and studies at Middlesex University said,  “Thank you very much for considering my design and congratulations to the winner! I look forward to meeting you all at the VIP evening.”

View Kathrine’s submission!

Karen Lane from the National Design Academy and lives in Lincoln said, “the Penthouse Apartment was a fabulous plan to work on and I was absolutely thrilled to be told that my design had been placed in the top five.  This is the first ‘national’ Interior Design competition I have entered and to get this far is very encouraging for the future of my business.” 

View Karen’s submission!

The judges were impressed with the high standard of work submitted and indicated that the process of short listing had been a very enjoyable and challenging experience. Following lively debate and discussion, the extensive judging panel reached agreement on the winning design. The decision was based on clear criteria, particularly the commercially realistic interpretation of the client brief.

Congratulations to all and I look forward to seeing you at the unveiling!

Leave a comment

Filed under NDA National Design Award 2011, News, The National Design Academy, www.nda.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

