Jamie Oliver’s Nottingham surprise

Yesterday evening, after a busy day, I went to the new Jamie’s Italian restaurant in Nottingham with a few friends. I’d been very impressed with the one in London and was curious how the Notts branch would compare – food and interior wise! I wasn’t expecting it to be on parr with London, but when I arrived I was amazed by the high ceilings, Victorian colour scheme and my favorite part – the toilets!!! Click the link to see more!

Courtesy of Thomas Crapper

 

The food and service were outstanding, but these toilets topped the evening. They were extraordinary, raw and mysterious all in one. I bet your all thinking I’ve gone mad! But I judge a place by its toilets, – beautiful loo’s equals a winning restaurant!

As I opened the heavy wooden door, I was faced with bare stone walls and tiny spiral steps you’d expect to find in the underground tunnels of a castle. So I walked down – very carefully, and opened the iron door to reveal a labyrinth of small coves with doors labelled “F” for female and “M” for male. To my delight the toilet suits were from non other than Thomas Crapper, the famous Yorkshire born plumber.

Staircase leading to the toilets

 

Above my head were ancient arches and in the walls held vintage wine bottles encased in a wired cage. They had even exposed one of the original tunnels which looked like it went on forever. I couldn’t walk down it unfortunately as they’d padlocked the glass doors – teasers! I’d love to find out whose idea it was to expose the original underground caves – you are a genius!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

