How to make your own vintage cake stand

I’ve recently jumped on the crafting band wagon since Linda Barker demonstrated how to make a vintage cake stand at last months Ideal Home Show. I did a little research online and to my surprise found sites charging for instructions on how to make one.

There are two ways you can go about making a vintage stand, one is to drill holes in the plates and connect them with metal rods, the other is (in my opinion more eclectic) to use glasses as the support stands in between the plates.

So I’d like to give you a short and free guide to making your own bespoke vintage cake stand.

1. The glue – make sure you buy a glue which is suitable for glass and ceramics. I use Uni-bond which is very sturdy but a little pricey so if you know of a good alternative let me know!

2. Style – you can make your stand as plain or decorative as you like, I bought my glasses and plates form the charity shop down the road and made sure I had three different sized plates and two glasses. Make sure you have a small and large glass that are sturdy enough to hold the weight of the plates.

3. Polish! Polish! Polish! Make sure those glasses are sparkling.

4. Upside down or upright? – Now, many stands I’ve seen online have the glasses upside down, but think it looks odd so I chose to keep mine upright, although it’s entirely up to you.

5.  Start assembling – take the largest glass and medium plate and carefully squeeze the glue (if you’ve mixed the glue in a pot use an ear bud to trace over the edge of the glass or to wipe away excess glue) around the top of the glass, then place the plate on top. Secure with a heavy book on top to help the bond.

6. Repeat the above process with the smallest glass and smallest plate.

7. Leave for roughly twenty minutes, I never go by what it says on the glue pack because you’re guaranteed it will take twice as long.

8. Take the largest glass and medium plate which you’ve glued together and carefully squeeze glue on the bottom of the glass. Then place in the middle of the largest plate that will be the base. You have the choice to place a book on top at this stage and wait for the glue to dry or move straight to point 9.

9. Repeat the above with the smallest glass and plate you’ve already stuck together and place it on the middle plate. So now you have the stand compiled, place a book on top and wait for the glue to dry.

10. Easy at that!

Tips: I decided to glue a tea-cup on top of my stand which can be used to hold a candle or sweets. You could also put a false flower, beads or crystals in the glasses to add to the style of your stand.

If you need any help or advice just leave a comment and I will help you as much as I can!

8 Comments

Filed under Ceramics, chic, country style, Eco-friendly, Home Acessories, Ideal Home Show 2011, Kitchen Interiors, Living room Interiors, News, Quirky, Style

8 responses to “How to make your own vintage cake stand

  1. I love it!! Thanks for sharing this Kellie. As you know I am a huge fan of up-cycling so I will be making one this weekend!

  2. Elaina

    I use the white gorilla glue for mine, and it’s holding up well.

  3. Pingback: Design Design Cake Stand

  4. Pingback: What trend is sweeping the interior design world and getting everyone shouting? | The Design Hub

  5. Becky

    If you like using glass, I reccommend buying a pair of art deco glass candlesticks from ebay- you can get them in an assortment of bright colours to compliment your plates, and they come with lots of different fancy shapes and embellishments :)

  6. Katy

    Which Unibond Glue do you recommend?

  7. Katy Sale

    Thank you so much – I am on my 3rd type of wrong glue! Not one DIY store has been able to advise me!

Leave a Reply

